Missing nm-applet in Ubuntu Maverick


Alright, cause I had my nm-applet missing for some forgotten reason, I had to switch to Wicd; an alternative for managing wireless networks.  If you came here for Wicd, you can always type

sudo apt-get install wicd

After accidentally removed nm-applet from my top panel, I had to do some googling and I actually suffered not having it for few days!  Running nm-applet on terminal shows the message “nm notification something … removed … notification area”.  Google told me it might have to do with icon packages which wasn’t the case.  After days of using Wicd, I am now officially removing it thanks to the solution I found and tried.

It was a simple, Right Click Panel > Add To Panel > Notification Area.

Leave a Reply

